Presentation

A multifaceted artist, 360° researcher, author and futurist, Raphaële Bidault-Waddington cultivates an open ECOSYSTEM of art-based research LABORATORIES, questioning the frontiers of Art and many domains.

Some are more formal, others more conceptual, but each follows a specific exploratory orientation, progress slowly (slow art approach), and can experiment collaborations between each other’s or with other structures. Due to this temporality, exhibitions are thus sporadic.

 

Oscillating between urban, pictural and mental architectures, the IMAGE Lab (once called PIIMS), creates photographic collages and installations, photomontages and publications, slide-shows, performative conferences and performative photographic workshops (action shooting).

This lab also generates speculative fictions (text+images compositions) such as the Republic of Images, and knowledge production (with the idea lab below) on topics such as cities and urban imaginaries, the digital sphere, fiction and the post-truth paradigm.

Next exhibition “Space-Imageis in January 2023 at Atelier Martel Architecture in Paris.

 

Less visible but very active, the IDEA Lab (LIID) operates at the crossroads of art and knowledge, and furthers post-conceptual art endeavors (concept of mental matter). It also dialogs with research on immaterial and digital economies, urban design and foresight (future research).

Its FORMATs include conceptual diagrams and heuristic maps (art documents),  installations and research-exhibitions (eventually performative), texts, publications, conferences and sound pieces, workshops and collaborative methods (polygonal research), and special projects called future labs.

Over time and projects, LIID became in 2016 LIID Future Lab, a hybrid foresight research platform, to explore the future, for both outside structures and its own research (R&D).

See all collaborations in France and abroad on www.liid.fr

 

The R&D labs currently in progress are MESOPOLIS (designing urban utopia model), and TOWARD ALIEN COSMOLOGIES (designing post-human future worlds in the AI, Anthropocene and Post-Truth era).

Both R&D future labs include image-based research (see image lab above).

They continue from previous R&D lab PARIS GALAXIES, on the future Greater Paris Metropolis (2008-17 – see archive website), which was pursued in collaboration with a pool of academic partners, and ended up with the book “Paris Ars Universalis, fiction scenario of a future Grand Paris”, Collection Avant-Garde, L’Harmattan, 2017 (download press review – in French).

 

 

And finally, as part of her personal ecology, RBW cultivates a SILENCE Lab producing meditative drawings (silent mental matter), and textile creations. Most recent textile pieces include a noise reduction material and address the border of Art and Design, other frontier explored…

Présentation

Artiste protéiforme, tête chercheuse à 360°, auteure et prospectiviste, Raphaële Bidault-Waddington cultive un ECOSYSTEME de recherche et création ouvert, organisé en LABORATOIRES et venant interroger les FRONTIERES DE L’ART avec de nombreux domaines.   

Certains labs sont plus formels, d’autres plus conceptuels, mais tous suivent une orientation exploratoire spécifique, progressent à un rythme lent (voire très lent – notion de slow art), et peuvent expérimenter des collaborations les uns avec les autres, ou avec d’autres structures. Les expositions sont donc sporadiques.

 

Oscillant entre architectures urbaines, picturales et mentales, le IMAGE Lab (autrefois appelé PIIMS), donne lieu à des collages et installations photographiques, des photomontages et publications, des slide-show, des conférences-performances et des ateliers de performance photographique dans l’espace public (action shooting).

Ce lab génère également des fictions spéculatives (compositions images+texte) telle que le République des Images, et une production de connaissance (avec le laboratoire d’idées), sur la ville, la sphère numérique, la fiction, la post-vérité ou la modélisation des imaginaires.

Prochaine exposition « Espace-Image » à l’Atelier Martel Architecture à Paris du 27 janvier au 21 Avril 2023.

 

Moins visible mais très actif, le IDEA Lab (LIID), se situe à la croisée de l’art et de la production de connaissance, et poursuit les explorations de l’art post-conceptuel (concept de matière mentale) mais aussi celles de l’économie de l’immatérielle, de l’urbanisme et de la prospective (recherche sur le futur).

Ses FORMATs incluent des diagrammes et cartes heuristiques (notion de document d’art), des installations et expositions-recherche (éventuellement performatives), des textes, publicationsconférences et pièces sonores, des ateliers,  méthodes de recherche collaborative (notion de recherche polygonale) et innovations pédagogiques, et des projets spéciaux appelés futur labs.

Au fil du temps et des projets, LIID est devenu en 2016 LIID FUTURE LAB, une plateforme de recherche prospective que ces soit pour des structures extérieures ou pour ses propres recherches (lab de R&D).

Toutes ses collaborations en France et à l’étranger sur www.liid.fr

 

Les labs de R&D en cours sont MESOPOLIS (modèle d’utopie urbaine) et VERS DES COSMOLOGIES ALIEN (concevoir des mondes futurs à l’ère de l’Anthropocène, de l’IA et de la Post-Vérité) et incluent une recherche par l’image.

Ils font suite au Lab PARIS GALAXIES sur le futur du Grand Paris (2008-17 – voir site d’archive), mené en collaboration avec un pool de partenaires académiques et dont est issu le livre « Paris Ars Universalis, scénario fiction d’un futur Grand Paris », Collection Avant-Garde, L’Harmattan, 2017 (télécharger la revue de presse).

 

Et en arrière-plan, pour se ressourcer, RBW cultive un SILENCE Lab produisant à rythme lent des dessins méditatifs (matière mentale silencieuse) et des créations textiles dont les plus récentes sont augmentées d’une capacité d’absorption du bruit ambiant. En introduisant une fonctionnalité sensorielle, ce lab vient dialoguer avec le Design, autre frontière de l’art…